Halloween Soirรฉes 101: The Effectiveness of a Scavenger Hunt

Every year I spend a lot of time from August through October planning the big annual Halloween party.๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽƒ

It’s thee greatest party ever! And I always put a lot of thought into themes and nitty gritty details, because that’s just what I do. โ˜บ๏ธ

Anyways, this year I thought long and hard about what I wanted to do, and instead of our traditional party with the games and contests, I want to really give my guests an experience. ๐Ÿ˜

Each Halloween we have a scavenger hunt at some point during our party. Over the years my scavenger hunts have become more elaborate and clever. Typically most people really have a blast with it and love the game, but, as with anything, lots of people get upset that it’s too hard or too easy or something along those lines.๐Ÿ˜’

There’s no pleasing everyone and it’s a real thorn in my side sometimes as I put so much effort into the riddles and clues and layout etc. ๐Ÿ˜”

So! This year! As a way to prevent such discrepancies and get my jollies on torturing my guests ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ”ช, I’ve got a very interesting scheme brewing in my brain. ๐Ÿ˜

image

This year’s plan: This year’s party will center around a very large and intense scavenger hunt. ๐Ÿ˜

This scavenger hunt will more or less involve puzzles, riddles and dares that must be completed accurately in order to win. The first team that completes everything correctly will win.

Thing to note for this scavenger hunt:

  • All participants must be in a team.
  • At least one player should have their cell phone on them.
  • Players must collect all clues in order to win.

This year, instead of a clue list I’m going to provide all the clues via phone numbers. A player must call and listen to the voice greeting in order to retrieve the clue. This particular scavenger hunt will not be limited to our home either, I’m going to set this up as a walk through the entire neighborhood.ย 

One element that I hope I can incorporate areย dares. ๐ŸŽƒ

Let it be known that I live in a relatively normal neighborhood, however, there are plenty of abnormal things that have happened. For one, the house next door is abandoned. The man who lived there previously was very cranky and died in the home, where no one found him until the neighborhood started to smell. ๐Ÿ˜

Spooky I know.

Creepy back door. We boarded it up after some hoodlums busted in one night. Suffice it to say the boards are barely holding on and rotting off. Creepy, no? โ˜บ๏ธ

Creepy back door. We boarded it up after some hoodlums busted in one night. Suffice it to say the boards are barely holding on and rotting off. Creepy, no? โ˜บ๏ธ

The house is creepy and run down and has lots of potential for serious spooks.โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽƒ

I plan on using that area and a roadside memorial area for the dares. These dares would include sending one team member to the site to have a 5 minute EVP session or playing Bloody Mary in the bathroom of the house etc. ๐Ÿ˜

Yes, I’m a very dark and twisted individual. โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ”ช

The thing I love about doing scavenger hunts is how easy it is to get people excited about them. More than likely your guests will totally be down to scavenge just for the fun of it. Adding a small incentive like a plastic trophy, ribbon, or goodie bag will definitely draw them in.

This year, I think I’ll make the prize a big bucket of candy with cans/bottles of beer or liquor thrown in. The team who wins can divide it amongst themselves as they see fit. โ˜บ๏ธ

The beauty about this year’s elaborate concept is the fact that setting it up is completely free! Even the phone numbers can be set up for free through Google voice. ๐Ÿ˜†๐ŸŽ‰

Scavenger hunts are just a great way to get everyone involved and having fun with each other. ๐Ÿ’œ I really think, if I have the time to plan, and the run-through goes okay, I can really give my guests an experience they’ll remember. โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’œ

So! I wish I could give you all the full rundown of how I hope to plan this out but I’ll hold off so no one finds out all my secrets this year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So what do you guys think of this idea? Do you want me to make some of my previous games from years past available here for your haunting season party planning inspiration?! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐ŸŽƒ

๐Ÿ’œ๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’œ

-Sarah

3 Comments

  1. I like the idea of giving clues out via cell phones. My friends had a scavenger hunt party last year, and we had to take a photo of the stuff we found but left the items in place for the other guests. I liked the hunt, because we didn’t have to carry the anything around. My husband and I won 2nd place, and got a $25 Fandango card! Your party sounds like a lot of fun with great planning involved, so I’m sure it’ll be a hit! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, photos are a good idea too!! I think I tried to do that once but it didn’t go over well as an idea so I nixxed it. โ˜บ๏ธ maybe ill think of it again this yeah for this one!โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ’œ thank you! It’ll be a blast!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

