Thursday Thrills: Giveaway Update, ‘Beauty Blogger’ Award Nomination

I’m so super excited to say that Vespertine House currently has 85 subscribers!πŸ˜†πŸŽ‰

Huzzah!πŸŽ‰

This means we’re 15 away from the vintage Tarot book giveaway!πŸŽ‰πŸ˜†πŸŽ‰

Hooty-hoo!πŸŽ‰

Now, once again, everyone who has subscribed is automatically entered into this drawing, and extra entries can be had by commenting/reblogging the original post and sharing the giveaway photo on Instagram with the hashtag #vespertinehouse!😌

image

So, get your extra entries in now!

In other news, I’m so honored to have been nominated by the lovely Anna over at Bee Beauty for the Beauty Blogger Award! This is my second blogger award nom and I’m super proud! Thank you, Miss Anna! Go have a peek at Anna’s blog– You can thank me later!πŸ’œ

Here’s my Q&A for this:

  • How long have you been blogging?

Not too long! I’ve been blogging on and off for years, and have failed many times at having a successful blog, lol Vespertine House, however has been remarkably successful and that makes me sublimely happy!πŸ˜ƒ

  • Favorite makeup brand of all time?

Hmm, I’d have to say E.L.F. Cosmetics actually! They’re quite cost effective and I’ve never had issues with their products! They make up the bulk of my foundational cosmetic supplies! I will say that in regards to pigments and the like, MAC and Ulta’s store brand are pretty high up there too! Great selection from them!

  • Favorite beauty blogger/vlogger?

Definitely Mykie at Glam & Gore! I love all of her SFX tutorials and her videos are really just entertaining! She’s awesome.πŸ’œ

  • What’s your favorite type of blog to post?

Hmm, I love doing my “Sweet Spooks” SFX posts! Although, they’re very time consuming what with all the makeuping and all lol. But! They seem to get the most feedback and I love that everyone enjoys them!πŸ’œ

  • What do you enjoy outside of blogging (i.e. hobbies)?

I love to sleep. Haha! That should totally be a hobby as I would be so pro at it! I do needlepoint and I enjoy creative writing when the mood strikes me, as well as painting and music. I actually started writing a book! With chapters and everything! Completely inspired by true events! But I have yet to finish it. I dabble in a lot of things I reckon.☺️

  • Meaning behind your blog name?

“Vespertine House” is supposed to mean a dominion that flourishes in the evening. The word “Vespertine” is an archaic term for “blooming in the late evening, or at dusk”. It’s one that we don’t use anymore but I simply love the word so I brought it back! lol, I added the “house” as it makes it feel more like a closed group and gives it a bit of exclusivity. The same way big fashion houses are called “houses”. I imagine as a whole, the name denotes a close knit group that comes alive after dark. Creepy, no? Yeah, I know you like that. lol😏

  • What inspires you?

Everything! I can be inspired by anything from the people around me to something I see in passing. Typically I get most of my best ideas from staring at the white abyss that is my ceiling above my bed haha.☺️

  • Favorite show?

Hmm, I love Doctor Who and I love BTVS. I spend most nights watching repeats of Night Gallery and The Alfred Hitchcock Hour which is awesome. I’ve also been regularly watching Catfish and Scream on MTV. I guess all of those are my faves!

  • The one thing that makes you happiest in the world?

Hmm, getting a full nights sleep and waking refreshed in the morning lol. It’s a rare, rare thing but when it happens it’s amazing.😁

  • Your best piece of advice to your fellow bloggers?

As someone who’s found several ways NOT to have a successful blog, but finally found the ONE way to have a successful blog, I think the best advice is to write for yourself and write about something you’re really, really into. I’ve written about stuff in the past that I thought I really enjoyed but I lost interest fast or worried that my opinion wasn’t advised well enough. It was a struggle and I failed at it of course. Now that I’ve found a way to vary my interests but still keep them relatively on topic (because i’m actually a weirdo by nature lol), I’ve been successful and have found a great audience of AMAZING people who make me feel humbled about my writing. And that’s the best! So, just write for you and your audience will find you.πŸ’œ

Alright! So! I nominate the following lovely beauty bloggers!

And my questions for you ladies…

  • Pick one Urban Decay or MAC? Which and why?
  • Favorite song right now?
  • Would you rather be famous for your blog or be famous for a talent you have (i.e. singing, dancing, art etc.)? Why
  • If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
  • Would you rather have the closet of your dreams, complete with every Louboutin and Ferragamo in history, or a private makeup studio in your house, complete with every Dior and MAC cosmetic in history? Which would you choose and why?

πŸ’œπŸŽƒπŸ’œ

-Sarah

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

