Halloween Haunting 101: Prop Building for Beginnersย 

I’ve been swamped (as mentioned in my last post), currently I’m sitting here watching Night Gallery, covered in paint and black dye. ๐Ÿ˜”

Tired.๐Ÿ˜ด

The last few weeks have been spent working on my first attempts at prop building! ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽ‰

I was really dead set on finally getting around to trying my hand at making my own spooky decor as I’ve always wanted to, and experience in prop building could prove useful in the future if I finally decide to pursue my dream of owning my own Haunted Attraction. โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜Œ๐Ÿ’œ

Fun Fact: My lifelong dream/goal is to open my own Haunted Theme park. There’d be haunted houses, cute Halloween villages, kiosks selling candy apples and pumpkin flavored everything, sfx artists doing face mangling, bars, and nightly shows, and parades! Think Disneyland but scary/horror/Halloween all year long!๐Ÿ’œ๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’œ

I feel as though this first attempt has been fairly successful! 

I carved out these stones in insulation foam and painted them with Rit Black Dye and light touches of grey spray paint. โ˜บ๏ธ

   
    
 Overall, they weren’t too difficult, just time consuming. I also learned a lot about the properties of Rit Dye ๐Ÿ˜‚ but, in the end I think it was worth it! ๐Ÿ˜Œ

I had remnants so I tried my hand at a tabletop Guillotine for our little visitors Halloween night! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’œ

  
I also decided to try making a few static standup props. 

  

These were harder as I had trouble stuffing and securing the clothes to the PVC frames. I feel like they would have been way better if I had longer fabric to work with and some Monster Mud to cover them. ๐Ÿ˜” in the end, working with what I had and bought on the cheap seemed to still be effective! โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

   
   
So! What’d you think? Which of these is your favorite? Tips? Ideas for this stuff? I’d love to hear! ๐Ÿ’œ

๐Ÿ’œ๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’œ

-Sarah 

7 Comments

  1. Some excellent work here, well done! Do you think any local shops or businesses would be interested in displaying your work? A library, perhaps, or even the local bank? (especially if the Sanderson sisters had their account there.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, John!! โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽƒ๐Ÿ’œ I did my best and definitely learned about best practices for the future! โ˜บ๏ธ I’m not sure, that would be an honor though! These stones will be planted in our front yard in another two weeks I believe, along with our prop stand ups! ๐Ÿ˜€ I think that sort of display will do for now although I’m currently considering offering commissioned projects for anyone interested! โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽƒ

      Like

  2. Wow! These are great! I have to say the tomb stones are my favorite!!!!! You are so pro and I am so impressed! I hope you get your dream. In the mean time perhaps make tomb stones to sell! People would love theses to put a couple or a few in their yards! Enjoy your day! Koko:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • ๐Ÿ˜€aww, thank you so much, Koko! Your comment really means the world to me! โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽ‰ I’m so glad you liked them! A few other people suggested the same! I may commission these projects this month but I’m not sure yet. I really would love to though! โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ we’ll see if time allows it! โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽƒ

      Like

      • Do it! Seriously! Just think all year long (10 months out of the year) you could be creating these awesome tombs…then sell time! You can totally do it. And you have the love and passion which can’t fail. Get a place you can work and store all the tomb stones (you can store them up high too. Build shelves etc.) You can totally do this! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, thank you, Koko! ๐Ÿ˜€โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ I may very well attempt to do so starting next year! Who knows! It’d be a great hobby that’s for sure! โ˜บ๏ธ๐ŸŽƒ๐ŸŽƒ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

